Foundation – Year 10 curriculum (Version 8.4)

Review of the Australian Curriculum 
On 12 June 2020, education ministers agreed that it was timely to review the Foundation – Year 10 Australian Curriculum, which has been in place since 2015.
Read more about the review.

The Australian Curriculum is three-dimensional – it includes learning areas, general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities.

These all contribute to a well-rounded education of all Australian students, providing the knowledge, understanding and skills needed for life and work in the 21st century.

ACARA has developed Foundation – Year 10 Australian Curriculum in the following:

  • English, Mathematics, Science, Humanities and Social Sciences, The Arts, Technologies and Health and Physical Education
  • Arabic, Auslan, Chinese, Framework for Aboriginal Languages and Torres Strait Languages, Framework for Classical Languages, French, German, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Modern Greek, Spanish, Turkish and Vietnamese
  • Work Studies Years 9–10 (an optional subject designed to ready young people for work).

In this section, read more about the development (including shaping, writing and preparation for implementation) of Foundation – Year 10 curriculum: 

  • learning areas
  • general capabilities
  • cross-curriculum priorities. 

During 2015, ACARA reviewed and revised the Foundation – Year 10 curriculum. 

Previously, two versions of the Australian Curriculum were available for viewing. One of them – version 7.5 of the Australian Curriculum – was removed at the end of 2017, with all state and territories using the current version of the Australian Curriculum.

To access the current curriculum, visit the Australian Curriculum website.


Implementation of the Foundation – Year 10 Australian curriculum

The implementation of the Australian Curriculum is the responsibility of state and territory school and curriculum authorities, which decide how and when the Australian Curriculum is implemented in their jurisdiction.

State or territory school and curriculum authorities:

State or territory

For more information

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales

New South Wales Education Standards Authority

Northern Territory

Northern Territory Government


Contact your school sector or Queensland Curriculum and Assessment Authority.

South Australia


Tasmanian Government


Western Australia

 Western Australia School Curriculum and Standards Authority


Webpage feedback