Our Board

The ACARA Board was announced in May 2009 and held its first meeting on 21–22 May 2009. The ACARA Board has a Chair, Deputy Chair and 11 other members, nominated by the Australian Government and all education streams (independent, government and Catholic) across states and territories. 

 ACARA Board

Belinda RobinsonMs Belinda Robinson FAICD 

Ms Robinson has extensive experience as a company director and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She has served on a number of not-for-profit boards and advisory committees and has familiarity with being a company director of both listed and not-for-profit entities.

Ms Robinson is a non-executive director of four boards – three of which she chairs. She has had a distinguished executive career serving as CEO of a number of peak national representative bodies including more than seven years as chief executive of Universities Australia, the peak body representing Australia’s university sector. She has worked in a variety of senior and senior executive positions in state, local and federal governments, including eight years with the Department of the Prime Minister & Cabinet.

Appointment term commencement – 3 August 2018
Appointment term ending – 3 August 2021

Norm Hart

Mr Norm Hart

Deputy Chair

Mr Hart is former president of the Australian Primary Principals Association (APPA), appointed to APPA in January 2011. He began his teaching career on Palm Island, Queensland, in 1975 and was appointed as a primary school principal in 1978. Over a thirty-year period, Mr Hart led small one-teacher schools through to large schools with over 700 students. He has also held the positions of the president of the Queensland Association of State School Principals and the Australian Government Primary Principals Association. Until his retirement on 31 December 2014 as APPA president, Mr Hart represented principals in government, Catholic and independent primary schools across Australia. 

Appointment term commencement – 24 May 2018
Appointment term ending – 24 May 2021
Board member Appointment commencement   Appointment term ending 
 Mr Allan Blagaich 
 Executive Director, School Curriculum and Standards Authority,
 nominee of the Western Australia Minister for Education
 22 May 2018  22 May 2021
 Ms Meg Brighton
Deputy Director-General,
 nominee of the Australian Capital Territory Minister for Education
 5 March 2020  5 March 2023
 Ms Susan Cameron
Executive Director, Learning Improvement,
 nominee of the South Australian Minister for Education
 18 June 2017  5 August 2023
 Ms Carolyn Grantskalns
 Chief Executive Officer, 
 nominee of Independent Schools Australia
 5 August 2020  5 August 2023
 Mr Peter Kelly
 Deputy Director-General, State Schools,  
 nominee of the Queensland Minister for Education
 10 April 2019  10 April 2022
 Dr Sofia Kesidou
Executive Director, Assessment Standards,
 NSW Education Standards Authority,
 nominee of the New South Wales Minister for Education
 24 November 2019  24 November 2022
 Mr Tony Luttrell
 Director, Strategic Data Management,
 nominee of the Tasmanian Minister for Education
 31 March 2019  31 March 2022
 Dr Neil McGoran 
 Director, Catholic Education South Australia, 
 nominee of the National Catholic Education Commission
 22 May 2018  22 May 2021 
  Ms Leanne Nixon
  Deputy Secretary,
  School Performance North, Department of Education, New South Wales
  nominee of the Northern Territory Minister for Education
 2 October 2019  2 October 2022
  Mr Derek Scott
Chief Executive Officer | Principal
  Haileybury, Victoria
  nominee of Australian Government Minister for Education
 21 January 2021  21 January 2024

 Board members may be reappointed.
 The maximum period of appointment cannot exceed six years. 
 There is currently a vacancy on the Board for a nominee of the Victorian Minister for Education.