Foundation – Year 10

ACARA has developed Foundation – Year 10 Australian Curriculum in the following:

  • English, Mathematics, Science, Humanities and Social Sciences, The Arts, Technologies and Health and Physical Education
  • Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Modern Greek, Spanish and Vietnamese
  • Work Studies Years 9–10 (an optional subject designed to ready young people for work).

ACARA is continuing to develop F-10 curriculum for AUSLAN and classical languages.

During 2015 ACARA reviewed and revised the presentation of the F–10 curriculum on the Australian Curriculum website. The previous version (7.5) of the Australian Curriculum will be available until the end of 2016. Visitors to the website are asked to choose which version of the Australian Curriculum they wish to access when they visit the homepage.

Implementation of the Foundation – Year 10 Australian Curriculum

The implementation of endorsed Australian Curriculum is a matter for state and territory school and curriculum authorities, who decide how the Australian Curriculum is implemented and the timelines for implementation in their state and territory, including which version of the Australian Curriculum is used.

The table below provides links to this information.

State or territory

For more information

Australian Capital Territory

All ACT schools have fully implemented mathematics, English, science and history using V.7.5 of the Australian Curriculum. The ACT will transition to V.8.0 when it becomes available as they implement additional Australian Curriculum learning areas. It is anticipated that the ACT will have transitioned to V.8.0 in all learning areas by the end of 2016. 

For further information with respect to sector implementation, please contact the following:

ACT Education and Training Directorate Email: [email protected] 

Association of Independent Schools Email: [email protected] 

Catholic Education: Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn Email: [email protected]

New South Wales

K-10 syllabuses for the Australian Curriculum

Northern Territory

On 14th August 2015 the Northern Territory Board of Studies approved the Australian Curriculum version 7.5 for use in NT schools from 2016. For information about timelines please refer to T-10 Curriculum implementation timeline. The Northern Territory Board of Studies will provide schools with an implementation guideline for the use of Version 8.0 during semester one 2016.

For further information:

Email Senior Manager Curriculum T-9 [email protected] 

Email Director Senior Years 10-12 [email protected]   



Consult your school sector or the Queensland Curriculum and Assessment Authority for advice

South Australia

Government schools: Version 7.5 will continue to be used until schools are notified otherwise. Refer to the ‘Circulars and newsletters’ tab at 

Catholic schools: Version 7.5 in 2015. Version 8.0 in 2016. 

Independent schools: Version 7.5 or Version 8.0. 


Refer to the Tasmanian Government’s website for more information


Refer to the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority’s website for more information

Western Australia

 Refer to the School Curriculum and Standards Authority’s website for more information