School numbers

Number of schools by school type and school sector
Number of schools by school type and state/territory
Number and proportion of schools by school sector, time series
School numbers dataset
Notes and caveats

This data includes primary, secondary, combined (primary and secondary) and special schools, across government and non-government school sectors.

School numbers dataset

Download the School numbers dataset 

Notes and caveats

    • Categories used in tables and graphs showing ‘school type’ are:
      • "Primary" - school delivers primary education
      • "Secondary" - school delivers secondary education
      • "Combined" - school delivers both primary and secondary education
      • "Special" - students may include primary students, secondary students, ungraded students or a combination of primary, secondary and ungraded students
    • Data is drawn from the National Schools Statistics Collection (NSSC) collected in August each year and published in ABS, Schools, Australia.
    • In 2020 and 2021, restrictions due to COVID-19 may have impacted on NSSC data. However, schools delivering programs remotely or that were temporarily closed due to COVID-19 at the time of the collection were included in the count. Overall, it is estimated that the impacts of COVID-19 on the data were minor. For further details see Schools, Australia 2020 and 2021.
    • From 2015, primary education comprises Foundation (pre-Year 1) followed by Years 1-6 in New South Wales (NSW), Victoria (Vic.), Queensland (Qld), Western Australia (WA), Tasmania (Tas.), Northern Territory (NT) and Australian Capital Territory (ACT). Secondary education consists of Years 7-12 in these jurisdictions.
    • In 2015, Year 7 in Qld and WA was moved from a primary school year to a secondary school year.
    • Until 2019 in South Australia (SA), primary education comprised Foundation (pre-Year 1) followed by Years 1-7. Secondary education consisted of Years 8-12.
    • In 2019, Year 7 was moved from a primary school year to a secondary school year in some South Australian non-government schools. In 2020, three government schools also moved Year 7 to become the first year of secondary schooling. Year 7 in SA will be moved progressively from a primary school year to a secondary school year (from 2022 for most government schools).
    • Categories used in tables and graphs showing "school sector" are "government", "Catholic" and "independent". In some tables, the category "total non-government" (total of Catholic and independent data) is also used.
    • In Schools Australia, and in this publication, Catholic non-systemic schools are counted as Catholic rather than as independent.
    • See Glossary for definitions of school, school level, school sector, school type and special school and for further information on the NSSC.

Source: ABS, Schools, Australia
This information relates to Part 1 of the National Report on Schooling in Australia.

User guide

Please refer to the user guide for information on how to use the data portal.


teen kids on comps
icon image