Board membership

The ACARA Board was announced in May 2009 and held its first meeting on 21–22 May 2009. The ACARA Board has a Chair, Deputy Chair and 11 other members, representing the Australian Government and all education streams (independent, government and Catholic) across states and territories.


ACARA Board members

  • Mr Norm Hart (Deputy Chair), 
    immediate Past President, Australian Primary Principals Association (retired)
  • Mr Allan Blagaich
    Executive Director, School Curriculum and Standards Authority, WA Department of Education and Training
  • Ms Susan Bowden
    Acting Executive Director, Schools North, NT Department of Education
  • Mr Tim Bullard,  ‎
  • Secretary, Tasmanian Department of Education
  • Ms Susan Cameron 
    Executive Director, Learning Improvement, SA Department of Education and Child Development
  • Mr David de Carvalho, 
    Chief Executive, NSW Education Standards Authority     
  • Ms Deb Efthymiades, 
    Deputy Director-General, Education Strategy Division, ACT Education Directorate
  • Ms Valerie Gould, 
    Executive Director, WA Association of Independent Schools
  • Mr Michael Hewitson AM, 
    retired foundation principal of Trinity College, Gawler, now Deputy Mayor, Unley (South Australia) and author
  • Dr Neil McGoran,
    Director of Catholic Education, SA (CESA)

View ACARA executive